Tags

 
 
A great loss of the anime industry. He’s known for being the director of Paprika (which I planned to watch since some say that it’s similar to Inception), Tokyo Godfathers (which I’ve watched before in Animax-Asia), Paranoia Agent, Millennium Actress and Perfect Blue. 

In the beginning of the message titled "Farewell," Kon recalled:

May 18 of this year, an unforgettable day.

My wife and I received the following prognosis from a cardiologist at the Musashino Red Cross Hospital:

"The pancreatic cancer is terminal and has metastasized to the bone. You have at most a half year left."

Later, he remembered meeting with MADHOUSE founder Masao Maruyama about the final anime film he was directing:


When I conveyed my concerns for
Yume-Miru Kikai to Mr. Maruyama, he said, "It’s fine. Don’t worry, we’ll do whatever it takes."

I cried.

I cried aloud.

He concluded his message with the following:


With feelings of gratitude for all that is good in this world, I put down my pen.

Well, I’ll be leaving now.

Satoshi Kon

This is not a really good week to end August. RIP Satoshi Kon.

