Tags

, , , ,

Time to question another questionnaire. This time, this is more animanga-centric than Ace Railgun’s. But some of these questions are already answered which can be seen in My Anime History. About the questions regarding my favorites, I’ll just mention the Top 10.

1. What anime have you seen? If you’ve seen too many to type out here, link to any list you may have, such as MAL.

There are a lot and all of them are in my MAL account.

2. Out of those, which ones would you consider favorites?

Code Geass, Darker than Black, Blood+, Tiger & Bunny, Senkou no Night Raid, X/1999, Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex,  Princess Tutu, Saiyuki, Rurouni Kenshin.

3. What was the first anime you ever watched and what was your first impression?

Shoukouji Sara (Princess Sara). I watched this when I was a little girl and I have no idea that this was an anime.

4. In what year would you say you became an anime fan?

See here.

5. Do you read manga as well as watch anime?

Yes. Currently, I’m reading 62 mangas and have read 88. Before I have easy access to the internet, I only read the ones which my brothers borrowed from their friends (e.g. Evangelion). I do read the manga adaptations but sometimes, I have this feeling that manga adaptations are more surperior than the animated ones. Well, it’s the same case when I felt about the movie versions of novels and classical literature.

6. What genre of anime usually interests you?

I’m more inclined to historical, military, sci-fi, action, adventure, psychological, drama, comedy and anything that floats with me as long as it has a good story and characters. Of course, I also like yaoi but it must have, at least, a compelling story.

7. What genre of anime least interests you?

Anything that has fanservice/ecchi/hentai and otaku-pandering shows mostly unless there’s a story to tell.

8. For your own personal enjoyment, what do you think is the most important factor in an anime?

I always look at the story and characters. I don’t mind the animation, as long as it’s pleasing to the eyes. The music and voice acting is also a must, as long as it sounds pleasant and memorable and the acting should be good, not cheesy.

9. Which do you prefer, dub or sub?

Mostly subs. I have certain view that Japanese seiyuus act better than the dub actors/actresses. And through subs, I learn Japanese words and phrases. But sometimes I check also for dubs just to see how well the dubbers perform and to have better understanding of the dialogues, since, there are instances that some subtitles have a different meaning to what is actually said.

10. Who are some of your favorite Japanese seiyuu?

Male: Kouji Yusa, Daisuke Namikawa, Toshiyuki Morikawa, Takahiro Sakurai, Mamoru Miyano, Tomokazu Sugita, Hiroaki Hirata, Kenichi Suzumura, Hiroshi Kamiya, Daisuke Hirakawa, Atsushi Miyauchi

Female: Fumiko Orikasa, Ami Koshimizu, Yukana, Yuki Matsuoka, Michiko Neya, Yuko Goto, Mamiko Noto, Sayaka Ohara, Sanae Kobayashi, Eri Kitamura, Junko Minagawa, Kana Hanazawa, Nana Mizuki

11. If you watch anime dubs, who are some of your favorite voice actors?

Unlike the Japanese seiyuu, I’m less familiar with English voice actors. Some of my favorite are actually from video games

Male: Mark Meer, Raphael Sbarge, Brandon Keener, Nolan North, David Hayter, Troy Baker, Crispin Freemen, John Gremillion, Roger C. Smith, J. Michael Tatum, Dave Wittenberg, Steve Blum, Andrew Love

Okay, those first three are from Mass Effect😄😄 And the next two…well, you know who they had voiced. Well, they haven’t done any anime dubbing works yet. :3

Female: Jennifer Hale, Brittney Kawbowski, Kari Wahlgren, Michelle Ruff, Marry Elizabeth McGlynn, Cindy Robinson

12. Which anime do you think has the worst English dub? And the best?

Based on memory, I’ll say Speed Racer…yes, Speed Racer is an anime and it really has the worst dub. Anyone who have watch this childhood would remember those exaggerating expressions which are parodied many times (e.g. Dexter’s Lab and Fairy Odd Parents). There’s also the dub of Galaxy Angel Z in Animax Asia before. Forte, one of the characters in that anime and a girl, is voiced by a guy. So, yeah, the casting director is either deaf or stupid to have a guy to play Forte’s voice. But that was back in 2005, so I think they corrected it…and probably fired that casting director.

But the best are Cowboy Bebop, The Big O, Karas,  X/1999 and Rurouni Kenshin.

13. What are your most disliked anime?

Hmm…that’s a difficult one…I seldom drop animes that irritate me the most. But the ones, which I regret watching, slowly became my most disliked. And that is Sacred Seven. The only thing that I like about it is only the music and the voice acting. The rest are worthless.

14. Do you ever try to get people interested in anime? If so, what kind of success have you had?

I know a lot of people who are interested in anime. Some of them even recommend me to watch some like Bakemonogatari, which I find it appealing and interesting. And in turn, I also recommend them to watch some anime (e.g. Trapeze or Kuuchuu Buranko and Code Geass) and read some manga (xxxholic and Tsubasa Chronicle). For xxxholic and TRC, they became instant fans of it. Heck, we even discuss about the latest chapters and formulate theories before we head to our classes. And sometimes, I usually lend some of my DVDs too.

15. Who are your most favorite anime characters?

Lelouch (Code Geass), Hei (Darker Than Black), Kazura (Senkou no Night Raid), Yuuko (xxxHolic), Kamui (X/1999), Homura (Madoka Magica), Roger Smith (The Big O), C.C. (Code Geass), Akutabe (Azazel-san), Kotetsu (Tiger & Bunny)

16. Who are your least favorite anime characters?

Shu Ouma, or should I say every character from Guilty Crown, Maverick from Tiger & Bunny, V.V., Nina and Suzaku from Code Geass, Light from Death Note, Gates and Gauron from Full Metal Panic, Ribbon Almack from Gundam 00, and Fei Wong Reed from TRC.

17. Who are your favorite “non-human”(animal-like) characters?

Kero from CCS, Mokona from TRC and xxxHolic, Mao from Darker than Black (though he’s originally human), Tachikona from GITS:SAC (not animal-like but non-human), Harayuki from Saiyuki, Kyuubey from PMMM,….and there’s some Pokemon, Doremon and Mojako :3

18. What are some ways you express your anime fandom? (going to conventions, blogging, reading fanfiction, etc)

There’ blogging, reading fanfic (but recently, it died down), making AMVs, posting news in my blog, making anime-related contests in the aarinfantasy forum.

19. What kinds of anime products do you usually buy?

DVD/BDs of animes which I’ve watched before or which I’ve planned to watch. I also buy stickers too, anime-related magazines and posters.

20. What are some of your favorite anime songs and soundtracks?

“Colors of the Heart” by UVERworld, “Yakusoku” by MUCC, “Magia” by Kalafina, “Spiral” by Dustz, “Falling Down” by Oasis, “COLORS” by FLOW, “My Soul, My Beat” by Lia, “Inner Universe” by Origa, “Ichirin no Hana” by High and Mighty Color, “Fantasy” by Lama

For the OSTs, there’s Yuki Kajiura’s PMMM OST, Naoki Sato’s X/1999 and Blood OSTs, Yoko Kanno’s GITS:SAC OST, Yasashi Ishii’s Darker than Black 2 OST, Taro Hakase’s Senkou no Night Raid OST. And these OSTs are the ones which I like to download.

21. What anime pairings/shippings do you like?

Fakir/Ahiru from Princess Tutu, Batou/Motoko from GITS:SAC, Hei/Yin from Darker than Black, Abel/Catarina from Trinity Blood, Lelouch/Kallen from Code Geass

I do also have some BL pairings/shipping too. But that’s another story.

22. What medium to you usually use to watch anime? (buy DVDs, streaming, etc)

Before, I used to watch anime on TV, dub or sub. My brothers and I also buy DVDs until we have internet access in the house. So, now, I’m usually watching anime online. But for the series which I’ve liked and seen, I buy DVDs or….download it and burn for personal use. Yeah, that one is considered to be illegal for some…but, I’m in the grey area…so….

23. What is your favorite anime quote?

There is no such thing as coincidence in this world….there is only inevitability” by Yuuko Ichihara of xxxHolic.

24. What are your favorite anime movies?

The End of Evangelion, Paprika, Tokyo Godfathers, Blood: The Last Vampire. There’s also the upcoming ones but that depends if  I get to see it. Yeah, majority of my favorite movies are made by Hollywood XP

25. What other “geeky,” media-related hobbies besides anime do you have? (video games, Western animation, etc)

Video games…I used to play RTS games like Command & conquer, Starcraft and Warcraft (not DoTA or WOW) and MMORPG like Ran. And recently, I became a huge fan of the Mass Effect series. And I also play Visual Novels too….but, all of them  are eroge and BL😄😄 And I’ll admit, the first VN that I’ve played is an eroge😄😄

I used to love Western animation before but I dislike the current ones except for the long-running ones like Simpsons and South Park. My best friend is even convincing me to watch Avatar: The Last Airbender and The Legend of Korra. But I don’t know  if I could watch it in the future.

Oh, I’m still a Harry Potter fan XP I’ve read and bought all the books and watched all the movies. And ever since the 1st movie, I developed a long-standing crush on Alan Rickman❤

And because of my brothers’ influence, I became addicted to Marvel and DC comics. But I’m more close to the TV series and movies than the comics themselves.

26. What is your most favorite anime of all, and why is it your favorite?

Ehem….Code Geass. Why? 1.) Character designs are made by CLAMP. 2.) The protagonist is very appealing. 3.) It has a very engaging story. 4.) It’s very addictive to watch. 5.) This is one of the anime which I always rewatch.

27. What are some anime you haven’t watched but want to someday?

Again, it’s in my MAL account. I know some people can watch 10-20 animes in a month. But for me, I have so little time due to RL issues >_<